CAF Women’s Player of the Year: Oshoala in line for 5th award

Threee other Super Falcons players nominated

Asisat Oshoala is in line to win the Confederation of African Football (CAF) Women’s Player of the Year for a fifth time after being nominated for this year’s edition.

The Barcelona Femeni forward has won the award four times and may be on her way to the fifth one as she has once again been nominated.

Oshoala alongside her fellow Nigerian compatriots, Rasheedat Ajibade, Chiamaka Nnadozie and Uchenna Kanu have been nominated for the CAF Women’s Player of the Year awards.

All four players have been named as part of a 30-player list of nominees including 6 South Africans, 3 Moroccans, 3 Ghanaians, 4 Cameroonians, 2 Zambians, 2 Zimbabweans, 2 Tunisians, 2 Botswanan, 1 Burundian and 1 Togolese player.

The quartet of Nigerian players are all currently at the Women’s 2022 African Cup of Nations (WAFCON) taking place in Morocco where the Super Falcons lost to South Africa 2-1.

Oshoala has, however, been ruled out of the WAFCON and has returned to her club, Barcelona where she will undergo further checks. The CAF Awards will hold on the 21st of July.

Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button