Horrible night for London clubs in Carabao Cup as Welbeck makes history

Arsenal, Chelsea, West Ham, Crystal Palace, Tottenham crash out; Man City, Liverpool qualify

It was a night to forget for London-based clubs on Wednesday as they crashed out of the Carabao Cup in the third round.

Chelsea, Arsenal, Crystal Palace, West Ham and Tottenham Hotspur will not be in the hat for the fourth round draw on Thursday immediately after the Man United vs Aston Villa game.

While Chelsea, Arsenal, Crystal Palace and Tottenham all lost to Premier League opponents, West Ham were dumped out by a Championships side.

Out-of-sorts Chelsea expectedly lost 2-0 to Manchester City at the Etihad stadium with two second half goals from Riyad Mahrez (53′ minutes) and Julian Álvarez (58′ minutes) condemning the west London side to their third straight loss across all competitions.

High flying Arsenal’s wings were clipped at the Emirates stadium by Brighton who came from a goal down (Eddie Nketiah’ 20 minutes) to win 3-1 courtesy of goals from Danny Welbeck (27′ minutes pen), Mitoma (58′ minutes), Lamptey (71′ minutes).

Welbeck, a former Arsenal player also made history on the night as he became the first player to score at Arsenal’s Emirates stadium with four different clubs (Man United, Arsenal, Watford and Brighton)

Fellow north London side, Tottenham lost 2-0 at the City Ground to Taiwo Awoniyi and Emmanuel Dennis’ Nothingham Forest with two second half goals by Renan Lodi (50′ minutes) and Jesse Lingard (57′ minutes).

Patrick Vieira’s Palace paid the penalty at the St James Park where they lost 3-2 via penalty shootout to their host, Newcastle after a goalless 90 minutes of action.

David Moyes’ West Ham also lost 10-9 via penalty shootout to Blackburn Rovers after conceeding late to end regulation time 2-2 at the London stadium.

Meanwhile, Liverpool squeezed to the next round after beating Derby County 3-2 via penalties after a goalless 90 minutes at Anfield.

Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button